07.12.2010

Under Section 161 of the German Stock Corporations Act (AktG), the Management Board and Supervisory Board of listed German stock corporations are required to declare each year that the recommendations of the “Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code” published by the Federal Ministry of Justice in the official section of the electronic Bundesanzeiger (Federal Gazette) have been and will be complied with or, if not, which recommendations have not been or will not be applied and why not.

The Management Board and Supervisory Board of Demag Cranes AG last issued the following Compliance Statement pursuant to Section 161 of the German Stock Corporations Act (AktG) on 7 December 2010:

Demag Cranes AG can confirm that the recommendations published by the Federal Ministry of Justice in the official section of the electronic Federal Gazette with regard to the "Governance Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code" have been complied with in full with the following exceptions since issuing the last declaration of conformity on 2 March 2010 and up to 2 July 2010, in accordance with the Code in force on 18 June 2009 and since 3 July 2010, in accordance with the Code in force on 26 May 2010.

a)     Clause 3.8 provides for the agreement of a deductible if the Company takes out a D&O policy on behalf of the Management and Supervisory Boards. Demag Cranes AG’s D&O insurance policy does not include a deductible for the Supervisory Board, since the Management Board and Supervisory Board do not deem this to be either necessary or suitable for controlling the behaviour of the board members.

b)     In accordance with Clause 5.4.1 (2), the Supervisory Board must specify concrete objectives regarding its composition and, in particular, provide for an appropriate degree of female representation. The Supervisory Board recognised the importance of diversity with the objectives regarding its composition adopted on 3 September 2010. It aims to achieve an appropriate degree of female representation and is therefore to include women as soon as possible. The Supervisory Board did not specify a precise number or proportion of female members, deeming such targets to be inappropriate, since the search for suitable candidates should focus on the specific situation of Demag Cranes AG and the resulting requirements. This should ensure that the composition of the Supervisory Board is determined in the best interests of the Company based on the qualifications and suitability of candidates.

c)     In accordance with Clause 5.4.6, the members of the Supervisory Board should be paid performance-related remuneration in addition to their fixed basic remuneration. The Articles of Association of Demag Cranes AG do not include a performance-related component for members of the Supervisory Board, so that it can preserve the independence it must have to be able to carry out its monitoring function. The performance of this function should not be tied to any monetary incentives.

d)     Gemäß In accordance with Clause 5.4.5, Supervisory Board members who are members of the management board of a listed company may not accept more than a total of three supervisory board mandates in non-group listed companies or in supervisory bodies of companies with similar requirements. The Supervisory Board member Robert J. Koehler is chairman of the management board of SGL CARBON AG, Wiesbaden, and has a total of four supervisory board mandates in non-group listed companies, including his position as member of the Supervisory Board of Demag Cranes AG, and no mandates in supervisory bodies of companies with similar requirements. This does not affect his monitoring duties as a member of the Supervisory Board of Demag Cranes AG. Mr. Koehler has sufficient time to perform his mandate at Demag Cranes AG.

e)     In accordance with Clause 5.4.3, an application for the judicial appointment of a Supervisory Board member should be limited in time up to the next general meeting. On some occasions, an opinion has been expressed that the recommendation also applies to the judicial appointment of employee representatives to the Supervisory Board. As a matter of precaution, the Management Board and Supervisory Board are declaring that this recommendation was not implemented in having employee representatives appointed by court to the Supervisory Board of Demag Cranes AG. As employee representatives on the Supervisory Board are not elected by the general meeting, the Management Board and Supervisory Board believe it is inappropriate to limit their judicial appointment in time up to the next general meeting.

Apart from the above exceptions, the recommendations of the “Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code” in force on 26 May 2010 are being fully complied with.

Düsseldorf, 7 December 2010

The Management Board                                   The Supervisory Board


 


© Terex MHPS GmbH

.

07.12.2010

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat einer börsennotierten deutschen Aktiengesellschaft sind gemäß § 161 AktG verpflichtet, einmal jährlich zu erklären, dass den vom Bundesministerium der Justiz im Amtlichen Teil des elektronischen Bundesanzeigers bekannt gemachten Empfehlungen der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex entsprochen wurde und wird oder welche Empfehlungen nicht angewendet wurden oder werden und warum nicht.

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat der Demag Cranes AG haben zuletzt am 07. Dezember 2010 die nachfolgende Entsprechenserklärung nach § 161 AktG abgegeben:

„Die Demag Cranes AG hat den vom Bundesministerium der Justiz im Amtlichen Teil des elektronischen Bundesanzeigers bekannt gemachten Empfehlungen der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex seit Abgabe der letzten Entsprechenserklärung am 02. März 2010 bis zum 02. Juli 2010 gemäß der Kodexfassung vom 18. Juni 2009 und seit dem 03. Juli 2010 gemäß der Kodexfassung vom 26. Mai 2010 mit Ausnahme der nachfolgend aufgeführten Ausnahmen in vollem Umfang entsprochen.

a)     Ziffer 3.8 des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex sieht die Vereinbarung eines Selbstbehalts vor, wenn die Gesellschaft für Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat eine D&O-Versicherung abschließt. Die D&O-Versicherung der Demag Cranes AG sieht keinen Selbstbehalt für den Aufsichtsrat vor, da dieser nach Auffassung von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat zur Verhaltenssteuerung der Organmitglieder weder erforderlich noch geeignet ist.

b)     Nach Ziffer 5.4.1 Absatz 2 des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex soll der Aufsichtsrat konkrete Ziele für seine Zusammensetzung benennen und insbesondere eine angemessene Beteiligung von Frauen vorsehen. Mit den am 03. September 2010 verabschiedeten Zielen für seine Zusammensetzung trägt der Aufsichtsrat der Bedeutung von Vielfalt (Diversity) Rechnung. Der Aufsichtsrat strebt eine angemessene Beteiligung von Frauen an; dem Aufsichtsrat sollen daher zeitnah Frauen angehören. Eine konkrete Zahl oder Quote für die Beteiligung von Frauen hat der Aufsichtsrat nicht festgelegt. Eine solche Zahl oder Quote hält der Aufsichtsrat nicht für sachgerecht, da bei der Suche nach geeigneten Kandidatinnen die unternehmensspezifische Situation der Demag Cranes AG und die sich daraus ergebenden Anforderungen im Vordergrund stehen sollen. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Besetzung des Aufsichtsrats bestmöglich im Unternehmensinteresse, orientiert an der Qualifikation und Eignung der Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, erfolgt.

c)     Gemäß den Empfehlungen in Ziffer 5.4.6 des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex sollen die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats neben einer festen Vergütung eine erfolgsorientierte Vergütung erhalten. Die Satzung der Demag Cranes AG sieht für die Aufsichtsratsmitglieder keine erfolgsabhängigen Vergütungsbestandteile vor. Hierdurch soll der Unabhängigkeit des Aufsichtsrats Rechnung getragen werden, die zur Wahrnehmung seiner Überwachungsfunktion erforderlich ist. Die Wahrnehmung dieser Überwachungsfunktion soll unabhängig von etwaigen monetären Anreizen sein.

d)     Gemäß Ziffer 5.4.5 des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex sollen Aufsichtsratsmitglieder, die dem Vorstand einer börsennotierten Gesellschaft angehören, insgesamt nicht mehr als drei Aufsichtsratsmandate in konzernexternen börsennotierten Gesellschaften oder in Aufsichtsgremien von Gesellschaften mit vergleichbaren Anforderungen wahrnehmen. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied Robert J. Koehler ist Vorstandsvorsitzender der SGL CARBON AG, Wiesbaden, und nimmt mit seinem Amt als Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Demag Cranes AG insgesamt vier Aufsichtsratsmandate in konzernexternen börsennotierten Gesellschaften und keine Ämter in Aufsichtsgremien von Gesellschaften mit vergleichbaren Anforderungen wahr. Die Überwachungstätigkeit von Herrn Koehler als Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der Demag Cranes AG wird hierdurch nicht beeinträchtigt. Herrn Koehler steht ausreichend Zeit zur Wahrnehmung seines Mandats bei der Demag Cranes AG zur Verfügung.

e)     Gemäß Ziffer 5.4.3 des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex soll ein Antrag auf gerichtliche Bestellung eines Aufsichtsratsmitglieds bis zur nächsten Hauptversammlung befristet werden. Die Empfehlung soll nach verschiedentlich geäußerter Ansicht auch für die gerichtliche Bestellung von Arbeitnehmervertretern im Aufsichtsrat gelten. Vorsorglich erklären Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat, dass diese Empfehlung bei der gerichtlichen Bestellung von Arbeitnehmervertretern im Aufsichtsrat der Demag Cranes AG nicht umgesetzt worden ist. Da Arbeitnehmervertreter im Aufsichtsrat nicht durch die Hauptversammlung gewählt werden, ist eine Befristung ihrer gerichtlichen Bestellung bis zur nächsten Hauptversammlung nach Auffassung von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat nicht zweckmäßig.

Mit Ausnahme der vorstehenden Ausnahmen wird den Empfehlungen der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010 in vollem Umfang entsprochen.

Düsseldorf, 07. Dezember 2010

Der Vorstand                                   Der Aufsichtsrat


 


© Terex MHPS GmbH

.